Little Rock is the capital of Arkansas and the global brand of a 12-county region.  The Little Rock region is an influential voice of the Southern United States, with more than a million people living within a 60-mile radius of downtown.

Little Rock has a population of 197,706 in the city, 392,702 in Pulaski County, 729,135 in the Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA), and 1,054,373 in the region. The MSA grew 14.6% over the past decade, and its population has a median age of 35.9 and a median family income of $58,911.

Little Rock’s is the only downtown that is home to both a state capitol and a presidential library.  It is linked on both sides of the Arkansas River by 24 miles of one of the best trail systems of parks and pedestrian bridges in the country.

Unique Little Rock

The Creative Corridor of Little Rock, between Pershing and Roosevelt Streets downtown, is a nationally recognized center of talent and creative drive.   Spanning four miles of Little Rock and North Little Rock Main Streets, it was proposed and championed by Create Little Rock, the Chamber’s young professional talent initiative.

Little Rock is an easy drive from major markets in contiguous states, including: Memphis – 139 miles; Jackson – 261 miles; Tulsa – 275 miles; Dallas – 317 miles; Oklahoma City – 340 miles, Nashville – 350 miles; St. Louis – 357 miles; Kansas City – 383 miles; New Orleans – 427 miles; and Houston – 434 miles.

Little Rock got its name from the famed La Salle Expedition in 1682, when the party landed at “La Petite Roche” on the southern banks of the Arkansas River. It became the seat of Arkansas’ new territorial government in 1821 and was incorporated as a city in 1831. In 1836, Little Rock was named capital of the newly admitted State of Arkansas.